✔️ Best Crochet Hooks ★ May 2020 - Unbiased Reviews (2022)

✔️ Best Crochet Hooks ★ May 2020 - Unbiased Reviews (1)

You’ll agree with me that crocheting is quite an interesting hands-on task that you can do anywhere you go, and can even help unite people while completing it. However, it is best done with quality crochet hooks that are easy to handle, comfortable to hold, user-friendly to arthritic hands, and versatile to be used in a plethora of projects with different yarns. How does one get such crochets? Well, I have some in store for you. With the best crochet hooks, you can complete any crocheting task with ease. Such a tool will be equipped with all the features you need.

Best Crochet Hooks on the Market in September, 2022

  1. BeCraftee Crochet Hook Set
  2. Knitter’s Pride Tunisian Crochet Hook Set
  3. Caron Tulip Etimo
  4. Yarniss Crochet Hooks Complete Set
  5. Looen Set of 12 Size Tunisian Crochet Hooks
  6. MW Steel Crochet Hook Set
  7. Yarniss Lighted Crochet Hooks Set
  8. KOKNIT Set
  9. BCMRUN 14 Aluminum Crochet Hooks
  10. Athena YY Bamboo Crochet Hooks

✔️ Best Crochet Hooks ★ May 2020 - Unbiased Reviews (2)

I have compiled a comprehensive list of the top crochet hooks on the market. You know how confusing it can be to select the best among hundreds of products on the market promising consumers the best results. Also, we wrote the buyer’s guide that will equip you with knowledge about the features to look for when shopping for these products.

Without further elaboration, let’s delve into these products.

1. BeCraftee – Best Ergonomic Crochet Hooks

✔️ Best Crochet Hooks ★ May 2020 - Unbiased Reviews (3)With Christmas approaching, BeCraftee crochet hooks can be the best gifts ever to your loved ones. The grandma would surely love this colorful set of tools in a colorful pouch suitable for a traveler. I must say this set impressed me at first glance.

What do you get?

In this elegant carrying case, you get 31 tools that are inclusive of sewing needles, crochet hooks, knitting markers, measuring tape, row counter, gauge measure ruler, folding scissors, and stitch markers. That is a whopping number of accessories for your next knitting project. Well, I wish yarn was also included. You can get that at an affordable price, as long as you have this complete set of hooks.

User-friendly

✔️ Best Crochet Hooks ★ May 2020 - Unbiased Reviews (4)What’s the use of having hurting hooks that leave your hands with cramps? Those with arthritic hands will find the pain excruciating if they use the tools for a long time with uncomfortable handles. Well, fortunately, these tools come with ergonomic handles, which are easy to use for your projects.

The grip is super comfortable with a cushion combined with a lightweight. For this reason, you will enjoy crocheting for a prolonged period of time without feeling unbearable pressure on your fingers, wrists, or hands. Whichever condition your hands may be suffering, you will enjoy these ergonomic tools.

Furthermore, on user-friendliness, the crochet tools are color-coded and labeled with different sizes. Isn’t this convenient enough? The set of 9 crochet has sizes: (B-2.0mm, D-3.0mm, E-3.5mm, G-4.0mm, 7- 4.5mm, H-5.0mm, I-5.5mm, J-6.0mm).

Quality material

To rest assured that you bought a premium quality product, you need to verify the material type used. Oftentimes, we get steel, bamboo, wood, and aluminum materials. BeCraftee hooks are made of aluminum.

What’s in store for aluminum material? Well, I like its lightweight, durability, and shininess. The tip is sharper for ease of insertion to stitches. Further, the hook’s throat is properly made to prevent slippery of yarn while promoting its smooth glide.

Storage

After completing your project, you should find it easy to store the tools. With this colorful case, you will be able to store and hit the road. The case makes these tools travel-friendly. You can, therefore, crochet wherever you go without losing even a single accessory.

Pros

  • Colorful crochet hooks and colorful case
  • Plenty of accessories such as folding scissors and measuring tape included
  • Made of quality aluminum to last you many years to come
  • Soft rubber handles well suited for those with arthritis
  • Easy to use and store

Cons

  • I wish yarn had been included

Verdict

Looking for the best set of crochet hooks, this is the best product to consider. I like its colorful display with sizes clearly printed on each hook. This makes it easy to spot them and complete your project without distractions. Again, arthritis patients can also enjoy using the tools. What more did I leave? Nothing! For this reason, I recommend this product. It is the best investment for your money.

2. Knitters Pride – Best Tunisian Crochet Hooks

✔️ Best Crochet Hooks ★ May 2020 - Unbiased Reviews (5)Manufactured in India, Knitter’s Pride Tunisian crochet set is one of the best on the market. The set brings you the crochet and accessories you would need.

What do you get?

Well, in addition to the 8 crochet hooks, you get 4 cords, 8 end caps, 4 cord keys, and 1 set of cord connectors in a clear vinyl case. While this is not actually a complete combo, it is still fairly impressive. These 8 crochets are differently sized, and so you will be able to choose whichever size required for a particular project or yarn.

User-friendliness

✔️ Best Crochet Hooks ★ May 2020 - Unbiased Reviews (6)Because these crochet hooks are crafted by renowned engineers, one shouldn’t doubt the user-friendliness. Thanks to the polished wood surface that makes the tools smooth to touch. For this reason, they make it a cinch to grip the hooks comfortably and work with them for a prolonged time.

If you are suffering from cramps and pains on your hands or wrists, this smooth wooden surface can solve your nightmares. Crocheting will be an enjoyable task for you.

Quality of materials

You will be forgiven for thinking that since Knitter’s Pride hooks are made of wood it means they are mediocre. Wood crochet hooks are quality materials too. Although not as tough as their metallic counterparts, wood products are relatively free of corrosion.

✔️ Best Crochet Hooks ★ May 2020 - Unbiased Reviews (7)Nonetheless, handle the crochets with care to avoid any accidental breakage. I also like the colorfulness of these tools. You will be able to distinguish them and no known which color to pick in a blink of an eye.

Storage

Storage-wise, these tools can be stored in their clear vinyl case to be used on the go. A small alternative bag can also be used as the tools are relatively small.

Pros

  • Smooth wood surface
  • Colorful 8 crochet hooks
  • Included with accessories
  • Easy to store

Cons

  • Wood crochets need to be handled with care compared to metallic ones

Verdict

If you are into affordable and smooth crochets for your next crocheting project, this set is a great investment. They come in different sizes colored so that you can distinguish between the sizes. The product is best suited for both beginners and professionals who want to take their projects to the next level.

3. Caron Tulip Etimo – Best Crochet Hooks For Beginners

✔️ Best Crochet Hooks ★ May 2020 - Unbiased Reviews (8)Caron Tulip crochet hooks enable beginners to knit with accuracy as though they have been in the crocheting business for a long time. I found nothing complicated or complex with the crochets hence I categorized them as the best hooks for beginners.

What do you get?

In your package, you get plenty of items sized (D3/3.25mm E4/3.5mm F5/3.75mm G6/4mm 7/4.5mm H8/5mm I9/5.5mm and J10/6mm). With these varying sizes of Etimo crochet hooks, beginners can find it convenient to swap between one tool to the other when completing different projects. Different yarn items also call for different hooks, and so you will be sorted with this set.

In addition, you get a pair of scissors in this package. This will help you cut yarn or fabric with ease. The pair of scissors is also made of quality materials.

Ussr-friendliness

✔️ Best Crochet Hooks ★ May 2020 - Unbiased Reviews (9)From an ergonomic handle to a long hook with a cushion, you have a user-friendly and super comfortable product. Most products feel crampy in hands whereby not even arthritic people can tolerate using them.

Etimo’s set of crochet hooks come with comfortable grips. They feel smooth and soft when holding them; thus, you can enjoy crocheting for a long time without complaining about fatigue on your hands or wrists, or fingers. All thanks to the elastomeric comfort grip that the tools have.

Quality materials

At first glance, you would feel this is a premium material. Made of aluminum material with a proper finish, I have never doubted the top-grade feature of these hooks. They are made to last with a unique design. The entire anatomy of the hooks is durable.

Further, aluminum is great in corrosion resistance. That said, you can enjoy crocheting in different weather conditions without worrying about rust. If you frequent the wilderness, you can enjoy crocheting with these hooks without them suffering from the outdoor elements.

Storage

When it comes to storage, I must admit that the clear case that this set comes with is not impressive to that extent. If you want something with a premium feel, you would opt for a different case. My previous products had much better cases for storage purposes. However, this is not really a downside but an expression of dissatisfaction with the case.

Pros

  • Premium quality tools made of aluminum
  • Soft and smooth cushy feel, which is super comfortable
  • Elastomeric comfort grip to accommodate arthritis people
  • Set includes 8 hooks and a pair of scissors

Cons

  • The storage case is not that impressive

Verdict

If you are a fan of aluminum, you will find this Caron Tulip’s set worth investing in. It has the tools you will need for your knitting project. Although not colorful enough, the hooks are still visible with their different sizes. They have a soft, cushy, and smooth feel. Why wouldn’t one want such an amazing product? I recommend it!

4. Yarniss – Best Crochet Hooks For Arthritic Hands

✔️ Best Crochet Hooks ★ May 2020 - Unbiased Reviews (10)If you suffer from arthritis, surely a hook with discomforts is the last thing you want to encounter. The hands get more painful if doing repeated tasks, especially with uncomfortable grips. Yarniss Hooks Set is uniquely designed to accommodate even arthritic hands.

What do you get?

Literally, you will have to wait for me to finish counting what’s included in the package. In other words, there are plenty of items in this complete set. You get 20 differently sized crochet hooks with their accessories.

Count to the number 6 yarn needles, which also add value to this set. A pair of scissors and 20 stitch markers are also included. Both professionals and beginners can find this set very helpful and all-inclusive, except that I haven’t seen yarn included. You can find anything at your disposal to complete your project.

User-friendliness

If I were to rate these sets of crochet hooks, this one would top the rank with its user-friendliness, hence I categorize it as the best for arthritic hands. The hooks are super user-friendly. Enjoy your crocheting tasks without feeling any pain. For this reason, arthritis patients can find these items very accommodative of their condition.

All thanks to a comfortable grip with a cushion to give you a soft touch. People will be surprised why you seldom let go of your crocheting tools, but to only find out it is because of the cushy feel. All components in this set are user-friendly.

Quality materials

You never go wrong with aluminum materials. An aluminum crochet hook lasts long and seldom suffer from outdoor elements that may lead to corrosion. Owing to the quality of the hook, yarn glides so smoothly and effortlessly, thus preventing its split. It is an absolute breeze using this set of hooks.

Storage

All thanks to the all-in-one crochet hook case for convenient storage. You get small elastic slots for each tool to conveniently store it for your next usage. Thus far, this set of tools tops with storage convenience.

For convenience’s sake, you find the tools color-coded to distinguish between the sizes. This also helps when storing them. That said, you will worry no more about confusing the sizes or losing your crochet hook. Thanks to the elastic slots provided with the product.

Pros

  • Designed to accommodate arthritis people
  • Plenty of hooks and their accessories such as stitch markers and scissors
  • Store with ease in the provided case with elastic slots
  • Comfortable easy-grip handles
  • Color-coded according to sizes

Cons

  • No yarn included

Verdict

If you want to gift someone with arthritis a present for this coming festive season, this is the best product. Who doesn’t like knitting fabric with crochets? Almost no one. The feeling is insurmountable. Your loved ones will, therefore, appreciate such a massive gift. I recommend investing in these multicolor crochet hooks.

5. Looen Set – Best Tunisian Crochet Hooks With Cables

✔️ Best Crochet Hooks ★ May 2020 - Unbiased Reviews (11)These Tunisian crochet hooks are one of a kind on the market with their long and soft cables. They take crocheting to the next level despite being made of ABS plastic while the majority is made of metallic materials.

What do you get?

Braze yourself for 12 different Tunisian crochet hooks at your disposal. They are alternatively called Afghan hooks. With these differently sized hooks, you can complete all your crocheting projects with ease because you get to choose the appropriate size for the project and the yarn. The sizes range from 3.5 mm to 12 mm with 1.2 m in length.

Both beginners and pros may find this product very helpful, all thanks to the different sizes.

User-friendliness

User-friendliness has not been compromised in this product. The grip is extremely comfortable, the groove handle is combined with the lightweight crochet needles to yield low pressure when using these tools. I must say that even arthritic people can enjoy using these hooks.

The included soft and long cables enhance the user-friendliness. They make handling an absolute breeze. To add on that, these hooks are relatively long compared to standard crochet hooks. That said, big projects will be a cinch to complete and you will be able to handle multiple loops with ease to create your stitches.

Quality materials

While it may not match the ruggedness and sturdiness of metallic materials, ABS plastic is still a genuinely durable product. It will last you for a long time. Looen Set is made of engineering ABS plastic. Added benefits to this material are that it resists corrosion and abrasion. The tools still feel soft and cushy in hands, thus rendering them suitable for those with pre-existing conditions of arthritis.

Storage

If storage is your main concern, then I’m afraid you might have to look for alternative storage. This set does not come with an impressive storage case like other previous products I have reviewed. That is not, however, a discouragement to buy the product. I would opt for an aftermarket bag, which I should find cheaply online.

Pros

  • Quality ABS plastic material
  • 12 different sizes of crochet hooks
  • Extremely comfortable grip handle
  • Long hooks
  • Come with cables to enhance user-friendliness

Cons

  • Storage case not impressive

Verdict

For your crocheting needs, I recommend this set of crochets. The set provides you with 12 different sizes of hooks with cables made of ABS plastics. All I see is quality material suitable for enthusiasts in the knitting world. I wish the carrying case was that attractive. Nonetheless, you can opt for an alternative one.

6. MW Hook Set – Best Steel Crochet Hooks

✔️ Best Crochet Hooks ★ May 2020 - Unbiased Reviews (12)You probably know how tough steel is compared to aluminum and other common materials such as rubber, wood, and plastic used in manufacturing crochet hooks. Does this toughness make steel hooks leaders in the crocheting business?

What do you get?

Best Steel Crochet Hooks could be your go-to product if all you need is tough crochet for tough projects. However, this does not really make these items superior to all other materials.

In this package, you get a set of 16 crochet hooks, from which you can select whichever size fits your project and/or your yarn. These sizes are from 0.5 mm to 2.7 mm. All items are approximately 12 cm in length.

User-friendliness

Made of rough steel, one would conclude that the items are super user-friendly. Well, a different scenario emerges.

Steel is tough and super durable. However, it is not as user-friendly as other materials unless coated for a proper finish and for water resistance. Stainless steel is a finished product, which performs way better than steel.

For this reason, these crochet hooks are not really user-friendly in hands but are nonetheless great for your crocheting business if all you need is tough crochet. What I like most about the product is that it can withstand any pressure you subject it to when crocheting.

Quality materials

When coming to quality, steel is quality material. There is no doubt about that. It will surely last you years to come.

However, you need to be vigilant when exposing these crochet hooks to outdoor elements. Unless treated, steel does not resist corrosion and other outdoor elements. Besides, these drawbacks, steel is of premium quality material.

Storage

The set does not come with a carrying case. You may, therefore, have to consider alternative storage cases for your storage purposes. Considering how water resistance is challenging for steel hooks, I recommend considering waterproof storage cases. Always store them after use to avoid any contact with precipitation if working outdoors.

Pros

  • Made of high-quality steel material
  • Set of 16 hooks with different sizes
  • Long crochets
  • Sharp hook to insert in plenty of stitches

Cons

  • Steel with treatment performs relatively bad in outdoor elements
  • Storage not impressive

Verdict

If you are looking for tough crochets, this is the best option. However, I reckon you buy a waterproof storage case so you can store these items. A soft and cushy feel on the handle is not guaranteed; however, steel brings top-notch quality and durability. I recommend this product for enthusiasts in the world of crocheting.

7. Yarniss Lighted Set – Best Lighted Crochet Hooks

✔️ Best Crochet Hooks ★ May 2020 - Unbiased Reviews (13)If you are more technologically inclined, these Yarniss Lighted Crochet Hooks could be suitable purchases for you. They take crocheting from manual to automatic. So far, this is the only technologically advanced set of tools I have reviewed under the best crochet hooks.

What do you get?

In this unique organizer bag, you get a set of crochet hooks totaling 9 items. There are 9-in-1 interchangeable heads with hook sizes ranging from 2.5 mm to 6.5 mm. also, you get 9 hook tips, a wrench, USB cable, 10 stitch markers, soft measuring tape, magnifier, handle, and a carrying case. What else did I leave? That is all that you will get in this package as you embark on a journey to take crocheting to the next level.

User-friendliness

✔️ Best Crochet Hooks ★ May 2020 - Unbiased Reviews (14)This electronically advanced set of crochet hooks is user-friendly. Handling the tools is one such enjoyable moment that even the arthritic hands can embrace. The crochet runs on a battery that lasts long. It takes about 15 minutes to charge but can last 7 to 9 hours after a single charge.

If you are traveling to a far place, make sure you charge enough and preferably own multiple batteries in case your battery depletes before finishing your project. You also get the charger included in the set.

For user-friendliness, I applaud the 2 brightness modes. If your crocheting needs illumination, you can take advantage of these brightness modes. Working with a dark yarn will be advantageous when using these brightness modes.

Quality materials

The crochet is made of a durable polycarbonate while the handles are made of silicone. All these materials are superb in quality even though they do not come closer to aluminum with premium quality. Nonetheless, if all you want is decent quality, this is the best product to opt for. What I like most about this is its technological advances. You seldom find such crochet hooks that are rechargeable or that come with interchangeable heads.

Storage

You are provided with the carrying case. For this reason, storage is sorted with this set. If you are traveling outdoors, you will be able to store your items and hit the road. There are individual slots for each item; this prevents the likelihood of losing your hook.

Pros

  • Rechargeable battery
  • 9-in-1 interchangeable heads
  • Made of high-quality polycarbonate
  • Soft-touch and comfortable grips
  • Come with the carrying case for ease of storage

Cons

  • Use of batteries may limit the frequency of using the crochets when traveling unless you bring multiple batteries

Verdict

Tired of manual crochets? These crochet hooks are the best products to consider by technologically inclined crocheters. I love how the product comes with interchangeable heads. Also, it is easy to store in individual slots. Personally, I found this product worth investing in. Just be careful of the batteries. I would take multiple batteries if I were you and then hit the road.

8. KOKNIT Set – Best Crochet Hooks For Amigurumi

✔️ Best Crochet Hooks ★ May 2020 - Unbiased Reviews (15)If you are into crocheting adorable Japanse-inspired small creatures, Koknit Set could be your best buy. The overall experience of using these tools is enriching. Whether you are a beginner or an experienced knitter.

What do you get?

Packaged in this set are 14 pieces of crochet hooks. They come in an ergonomic case with rubber soft handles. Take your amigurumi hobby to the next level by knitting with these one-of-a-kind crochets. By now you should know that every project demands its own size of crochet. In this case, you get sizes from B(2mm) to N/P(10mm). Ideally, the crochets are extra long to enable yarn to glide effortlessly while completing major projects.

User-friendliness

Talking about user-friendliness, deep throat slip easily over woven yarn. It makes the job easy without the need to waste time fiddling with yarn. Beginners and pros will find these tools worth having. To add to that, the ergonomic handles make it an absolute breeze to knit amigurumi.

Multiple crochet sizes simplify your job by enabling you to choose the correct size for a specific task; you would otherwise purchase individual sizes of hooks designed for particular projects. Thanks to this set of 14 pcs of crochet hooks and accessories to make your job effortless.

Those suffering from arthritis can also find this set very user-friendly. No pains felt after using the crochet. Most importantly, you will not aggravate your condition. Very few crochets have a cushion feel that accommodates arthritic conditions.

Quality materials

Like the majority of crochets on the market, these ones are made of premium aluminum material. What I like with aluminum is that is high-quality and corrosion-resistant, and will, therefore, last you long. In this set, you get smooth aluminum crochet designed to last you for a prolonged time without splitting your yarn. Knitting becomes a smooth process with these long yet quality crochets.

Storage

Speaking of the storage, the 14 pcs come in a carrying case that you can travel with. You will travel knowing that your items are safe and can conveniently take out a specific size without others disturbing you.

Pros

  • Multiple crochet hooks with different sizes printed with the US and the metric system
  • Colorful items to spot the correct size with ease
  • Great storage in the provided carry case
  • Made of high-quality aluminum
  • Money-back guarantee in case you are dissatisfied

Cons

  • No yarn included, and so you may have to purchase that separately

Verdict

Ready to invest in quality products made of aluminum? This is the right product I am recommending. The items are colorful and printed with the US and metric systems. Using the product is quite an absolute breeze as the crochets are extra-long and the handles are ergonomically built to give a soft touch. If you are dissatisfied with the product, you will qualify for a money-back guarantee. Without hesitation, I do recommend this product.

9. BCMRUN – Best Aluminum Crochet Hooks

✔️ Best Crochet Hooks ★ May 2020 - Unbiased Reviews (16)This is yet another aluminum set of crochets. If you recall vividly, I have reviewed ample aluminum-based crochet hooks. You would even think aluminum is the only high-quality material used.

What do you get?

In this set, you get 14 aluminum crochet hooks with sizes: 2.0 mm up to 10.0 mm. The hooks are multi-color coded with each displaying the appropriate so that you can choose the correct one for your project.

Unlike others, you don’t get much of the accessories in this set. Only the crochets are provided. I also wish the carrying case was impressive enough, but it isn’t.

User-friendly

Using this set of crochets should be an intriguing moment for both beginners and pros. At first glance, you see a portable tool with the appropriate hook, shaft, and ergonomic handle. And when you pick it up, you feel the premium quality of aluminum in it. Lastly, you will feel the comfort of using it for your crocheting tasks. It feels lightweight yet functional in knitting.

Because you have plenty of items, they are each color-coded. If it were not the case, you would otherwise struggle to spot the correct size at a glance. Each item is printed the right size. Those involved in multiple projects will find this set very helpful.

Quality material

This is the best aluminum crochet hook set. I have had the privilege to get hold of it, and I must admit it felt so premium and lightweight in my hands. If you leave them exposed to the outdoor elements, they will not corrode or rust.

The overall anatomy of this crochet hook is impressive. The hook is impressively sharper to be inserted in any stitch without splitting the yarn. The crochet is long enough to knit your fabric through the loops.

Storage

Unfortunately, storage seems to be a problem for this set. There is no carrying case. Nonetheless, that is not really the downside of buying the product. You can still find an alternative storage case. The bottom line with this product is its rich collection of features.

Pros

  • Made of high-quality aluminum
  • 14 pieces of crochet hooks
  • Different sizes of hooks
  • Multi-color coded items
  • Soft feel and comfortable grip

Cons

  • Carrying case not impressive to carry the items around. For this reason, you have to get an alternative storage case.

Verdict

Personally, I am always impressed and attracted by crochet hooks made of aluminum. I do not, however, insinuate that other materials are mediocre. If you were to compare, aluminum tops in terms of lightweight to durability ratio. Steel, for instance, might be highly durable but performs badly when coming to outdoor elements. If you are ready for an investment, this is the best product to consider.

10. Athena YY – Best Bamboo Crochet Hooks

✔️ Best Crochet Hooks ★ May 2020 - Unbiased Reviews (17)For a change, you get these bamboo crochet hooks to complete your crocheting tasks. These types of materials are not as common as aluminum. Nonetheless, they are fairly durable and of high quality.

What do you get?

In this pack of 12, you get wooden crochet hooks with sizes: 3 – 10mm. each crochet is marked with metric sizes for ease of identification in case you are faced with a project that demands different sizes of crochets. You would otherwise spend lots of money on buying individual crochets of different sizes.

These crochet tools are 6 inches long. For this reason, they are easy to handle. Unfortunately, the pack is not as inclusive as others with regard to accessories. Typically, you get wooden tools. Others such as yarn and measuring tape have to be purchased separately.

User-friendly

Considering that the tools are purely made of durable carbonized wooden bamboo, I find them very user-friendly in my hands. For example, it feels super comfortable to grip them with ease and control. However, you have to beware not to break these wooden items. They are not as durable as aluminum – a metallic counterpart.

Given the different sizes, these tools are user-friendly. They are not multicolor-coded but are, however, still fairly identifiable, although you have to be careful.

Quality materials

Upon seeing this wooden design, many would assume the crochets could break easily. You are forgiven if you thought the same. That is not really the case here. Bamboo is still fairly durable, and these tools will last you considerably longer.

You just need to be vigilant when dealing with them, more especially the thin ones. Use thick crochets for bigger projects and thin ones for small projects.

Storage

Although the carrying case is not that attractive, it is fairly functional and will be able to store the tools. That said, you need not worry about getting alternative storage because the supplied bag is sufficient. However, if you are not a fan of the colors then you can reconsider it.

Pros

  • Quality wooden crochets
  • A pack of 12 6-inch long tools
  • Different sizes for different projects
  • Come with the storage case

Cons

  • Not multicolor coded and so spotting different sizes in a blink of an eye could be a challenge

Verdict

If you are looking for a change of material instead of aluminum, this is the right product as bamboo is relatively high quality. I recommend the product without hesitation. However, word of advice, make sure you use the tools vigilantly and carefully because the thin ones could break if exposed to bigger projects.

Buyer’s guide

✔️ Best Crochet Hooks ★ May 2020 - Unbiased Reviews (18)
Now that I have reviewed the best crochet hooks, let’s discuss the best buyer’s guide. Given hundreds of crochets on the market, it can get overwhelmingly confusing to pick the best one. In my collection, I have picked the sets that come with different hooks in different sizes. This helps you choose the appropriate for a particular project. Let’s check what features are worth considering.

What features should you consider when buying crochet hooks?

  • Quantity of tools per set
  • Quality material
  • User-friendliness

Quantity of tools per set

More crochet hooks in your package give you the much-needed versatility in your different projects. These tools must come in different sizes. You will be able to choose the correct tool. Moreover, I prefer color-coded items that will help me identify with ease the correct sizes. Nonetheless, those without colors are still fairly identifiable if you give yourself enough time to check them.

Quality material

Are the tools made of bamboo, rubber, ABS plastic, steel, or aluminum? In my experience, I have come across plenty of tools made of aluminum and plastics. However, almost every material has at least one product made of it.

When selecting proper material, consider corrosion-free and durable materials. Aluminum, for instance, is both lightweight and durable. Also, it is shiny. I personally prefer aluminum over any other material. ABS plastics are also fairly durable, and so it is with bamboo.

If you frequent the outdoors, steel may be a challenge because if exposed to outdoor elements for a prolonged time, it might be prone to rust.

User-friendliness

Are the handles soft and comfortable to grip? Will the arthritic patients enjoy working with the crochet hook? These are some of the questions to gauge the user-friendliness of these items. You need cushioned handles that will not leave pains and cramps on your fingers, hands, and wrists after use.

Conclusion

This marks the end of my comprehensive review of the best crochet hooks on the market. I have reviewed only the best based on the features I discussed in the buyer’s guide.

In a nutshell, if you need quality crochets, check the quality of materials, the quantity in the set, and the overall anatomy including the handles and the sizes. This will help you buy the correct products. For a beginner in crocheting, I recommend watching this YouTube video. It demystifies the process of crocheting.

FAQs

Which are the most comfortable crochet hooks? ›

There are two names that you have probably heard again and again if you have been asking around for the best ergonomic crochet hooks – Clover Amour and Furls. Crocheters love these amazing ergonomic crochet hooks for a number of reasons!

What is the best material for crochet hooks? ›

Bamboo is a strong and flexible material that is difficult to break so is ideal for knitting needles and crochet hooks. Lighter than traditional wooden needles/hooks, bamboo ones are smooth and sturdy, yet flexible enough to manage most projects.

Are Susan Bates crochet hooks any good? ›

5.0 out of 5 stars Susan Bates hooks are the BEST hooks!! I love these hooks! The aluminum Susan Bates crochet hooks are the absolute BEST and easiest to crochet with, in my opinion. I also bought some ergonomic cushions that slide on to the handles that make them so comfortable to use for long periods of time too!

Why are clover crochet hooks so good? ›

They don't look like they are as smooth as the all-metal hooks, maybe because they aren't as shiny, but they glide right through the yarn. Even the larger sizes that have the plastic shaft are incredibly smooth hooks! You will be able to crochet faster and more evenly with the smooth shaft of these hooks.

Are some crochet hooks better than others? ›

The material of the crochet hook

Different materials will work better with different yarn projects. For example, a really slippery yarn such as silk bamboo might slide off of a glass or plastic crochet hook too quickly, so a slightly rougher wooden or bamboo crochet hook might be a better choice.

Can crocheting help arthritis? ›

Knitting/Crochet - What you need to know:

Pros: Helps you maintain flexibility in hands (especially with finger osteoarthritis). Harder patterns are good for finger dexterity training.

What is the best crochet hook size? ›

What is The Most Commonly Used Crochet Hook Size? The most common size is a H/8 5 mm crochet hook. It is the perfect size to make blankets, scarves and more since it is not too small and not too large.

How do I make my crochet hooks smoother? ›

If you have metal or plastic crochet stitches, apply a small amount of lotion to your crochet hook. This can make your crochet hook more smooth and glide more easily through your yarn. Be careful to only use a small amount of lotion and don't overdo it.

What should I look for when buying a crochet hook? ›

Choosing your crochet hook - YouTube

Does using a bigger crochet hook use less yarn? ›

If you are using the same pattern (same number of stitches and rows/rounds), a larger crochet hook will use up more yarn. If you are going for the same size of project (say a 36 by 36 inch blanket), a larger crochet hook will use up less yarn.

Are aluminum crochet hooks better? ›

Aluminum might be a good choice when you want to work quickly or if you have a yarn that has a lot of texture to it that would stitch to another material. Wood hooks, also a common option at big box stores, have more drag to them. Since wood is more porous than aluminum it will grip the yarn a little more.

What is the difference between Boye and Susan Bates hooks? ›

Boye hooks have a long shaft, so the thumb rest is slightly further down on the handle. They, in turn, have a shorter handle. Bates hooks have an inline hook with a rounded top, while Boye hooks have a more pointed top with a tapered throat.

Are Boye crochet hooks made in USA? ›

Boye, Made in USA, Very small, Steel, 1940s, Crochet Hook, Sizes 00 thru 14, Tatting Hook, Single Hook, Very Vintage. Lots of interest.

Who makes Susan Bates crochet hooks? ›

Product information
Product Dimensions7.25 x 3.5 x 0.25 inches
Is Discontinued By ManufacturerNo
Item Weight1.6 ounces
ManufacturerVista Partners Inc.
Date First AvailableOctober 29, 2007
4 more rows

What is the difference in Tulip crochet hooks? ›

While the Clover Amour handle is flat where the thumb rests, the Tulip Etimo handle is more rounded. This means that when rolling the hook to create stitches, the edge of the Amour handle rubs against the finger, causing soreness, as do regular hooks, but the Tulip Etimo handle doesn't.

Are Clover hooks worth it? ›

Clover Crochet Hooks are ergonomic, the fancy word for they just feel really good when you use them and I don't really know the science of it. But they really, truly, do. The aluminum tip glides sooo smoothly. I have serious trouble using any other hook now because it throws off my rhythm.

Where are clover crochet hooks made? ›

When you unzip the case, you can see all ten of the beautiful Clover Amour hooks that were made in Japan! It makes me happy seeing all these fun colours whenever I reach in to grab a hook.

Where are Prym crochet hooks made? ›

Germany

Are ergonomic crochet hooks better? ›

Fitted with a soft and padded handle, ergonomic hooks are designed for comfort, safety, and ease of use. Not only are they extremely useful for crocheters who want to crochet for hours, but are also an excellent option for those with chronic pain or discomfort, such as arthritis and tendonitis.

Do crochet hooks wear out? ›

But, do crochet hooks actually wear out? Crochet hooks don't wear out very easily, unless they are low quality and used extensively. Metal and plastic hooks may lose their color and become sticky overtime. Wood crochet hooks may slowly lose their wax coating, which can be fixed by reapplying a coat of needle wax.

What happens if you crochet too much? ›

Unfortunately, any small, repetitive movements such those used in crochet can cause you to develop Repetitive Strain Injury (RSI) or other conditions such as Tennis Elbow and Carpel Tunnel, but we've put together our top tips to hopefully help you prevent pain.

How do you hold a crochet hook for arthritis? ›

The best ergonomic crochet hook for arthritis would be one with a rubber handle, which has been shaped to fit the hand better. These are warmer when used, compared to metal hooks, and the comfortable shape makes them easier to use for longer periods.

Are lighted crochet hooks worth it? ›

Lighted crochet hooks can be a valuable tool for crocheters who experience eyesight problems, crochet at night, or need extra help to see stitches made with dark yarn.

Does a smaller crochet hook make a tighter stitch? ›

Smaller hooks make finer and tighter crochet, while larger hooks produce a bulkier, more open weave. Patterns and yarn labels always suggest what size hook to use, but you may need to switch to a different size to achieve the correct gauge.

What wool is best for crochet? ›

Worsted and bulky weight yarns are considered the best yarns for crochet beginners because they fall right in the middle of the list.

What size crochet hook should I use with size 10 thread? ›

Here's a good starting point: Size 10 thread works well with a crochet hook sized 7 or 8. Size 20 thread works well with a crochet hook sized 9 or 10. Size 30 thread works well with a crochet hook sized 10, 11 or 12.

Why does my crochet hook get sticky? ›

If you are crocheting on a hot day, the metal of your crochet hook will quickly eat up and get sticky and sweaty.

How do I stop my hands from sweating when I crochet? ›

Sit by a fan as you work on your knit or crochet project. Sitting by an oscillating fan really helps to keep your hands cool as you work. This works like a charm every time – trust me!

How do you not lose a crochet hook? ›

It seems like every time I put my crochet project down, I lose my hook! I started inserting the hook through the project to try to keep the two together, but found it just slipped out eventually. Now, I wrap a rubber band or a hair tie around the hook. It adds a little extra stickiness that keeps it in place.

What size crochet hook do I need for 8 ply wool? ›

Two or Three Ply - use a hook 2.00mm or smaller. Four Ply Wool - use 2.75mm or 3.25mm hooks. Double Knit or Eight Ply Wool - use 3.25mm or 4.0mm hooks.

How many hooks do I need to crochet? ›

If you are familiar with knitting, you know you need two needles to knit. But don't go to your local yarn shop and buy two same crochet hooks! You need just one. Well, not just one.

What size crochet hook do you use with worsted weight yarn? ›

Medium (commonly called worsted) yarn (weight 4): Knitting needles: 4.5 to 5.5 mm, or sizes 7 to 9. Crochet hooks: 5.5 to 6.5 mm, or sizes I–9 to K–10 1⁄2.

Which takes more yarn knitting or crochet? ›

As expected, knitting takes up the least amount of yarn per given surface. That's because the stitches are quite flat, there are only two layers of yarn in any given spot. Regular crochet comes next, with about 25% more yarn used per given surface.

What stitch uses the least yarn crochet? ›

Of the basic crochet stitches (single, half-double, double, and treble crochet), the treble crochet stitch and the double crochet stitch used the least amount of yarn. They tied in length and weight of yarn used for a 4 by 4 inch swatch.

What happens if you use a crochet hook thats too big? ›

What Happens If You Use a Bigger Hook? If you use a bigger hook than the pattern calls for, the finished item will turn out bigger. Your stitches may be looser, which can cause gaps to appear in the fabric. This may not be a big deal if you're making a blanket, but it can be a big deal if you're making a sweater.

Are aluminum crochet hooks safe? ›

Aluminum Crochet hooks

Aluminum hooks are the best if you are a beginner and you are not prone to wrist pain. They are good for general use and are most commonly available in stores.

Can you fly with metal crochet hooks? ›

Yes, crochet hooks are allowed on airplanes (in both your carry-on or checked) by the TSA. One note: The app does notes that "sharp objects in checked bags should be sheathed or securely wrapped to prevent injury to baggage handlers and inspectors." That would go for knitting needles, as well.

Are acrylic crochet hooks good? ›

Acrylic Crochet Hooks – Acrylic crochet hooks are often a lightweight hook that is a comfortable material to hold. I've had the best luck with these when using a thicker yarn. You definitely wouldn't want to use a thin bamboo yarn, or anything that could slide of very easily.

Are old crochet hooks valuable? ›

Antique crochet hooks don't have much monetary value on the open market but are nonetheless objects treasured by passionate collectors.

What is the difference between inline and tapered crochet hooks? ›

Inline crochet hooks are called such because the hook head is “in line” with the shaft. Susan Bates Silvalume hooks are inline. The head is slightly more pointed and the bowl or mouth is a little deeper. Tapered hooks have a hook head that extends out past the shaft and is a little more rounded.

How do you date a crochet hook? ›

Patents and registered designs are the most accurate way to date crochet hooks. Either can date the first release of a hook. Patents are usually for innovations in technology such as US patent 572809 by Kippenberg in 1896 for the flat (grip, thumb rest) found on most hooks today.

What crochet hooks are made in USA? ›

BRITTANY knitting needles and crochet hooks are made in the USA from sustainably harvested Birch and Black Walnut. These finely crafted wooden tools are hand finished and exactly sized. They are not only beautiful to look at but feel warm and smooth in your hands and are a pleasure to work with.

Is The Boye Needle company still in business? ›

Today, the Boye brand is housed under Creative Simple Solutions (CSS) Industries and continues to create innovative products.

Are Susan Bates crochet hooks good? ›

5.0 out of 5 stars Susan Bates hooks are the BEST hooks!! I love these hooks! The aluminum Susan Bates crochet hooks are the absolute BEST and easiest to crochet with, in my opinion. I also bought some ergonomic cushions that slide on to the handles that make them so comfortable to use for long periods of time too!

Where are Tulip crochet hooks made? ›

Tulip crochet hooks and needles are made in Japan.

Does Susan Bates make a 4.5 mm crochet hook? ›

Susan Bates Silvalume Aluminum Crochet Hook 5.5", Size 7/4.5mm.

What size crochet hook is the best? ›

What is The Most Commonly Used Crochet Hook Size? The most common size is a H/8 5 mm crochet hook. It is the perfect size to make blankets, scarves and more since it is not too small and not too large.

What is the difference in crochet hooks? ›

Smaller hooks make finer and tighter crochet, while larger hooks produce a bulkier, more open weave. Patterns and yarn labels always suggest what size hook to use, but you may need to switch to a different size to achieve the correct gauge.

What kind of hook do you use for cotton yarn? ›

9. Matte hooks work best for cotton. Cotton yarn tends to slip around too much on crochet hooks that have a slick, polished finish. Choose crochet hooks that have a matte finish or a bit of grip.

What wool is best for crochet? ›

Worsted and bulky weight yarns are considered the best yarns for crochet beginners because they fall right in the middle of the list.

What happens if you use a bigger crochet hook? ›

What Happens If You Use a Bigger Hook? If you use a bigger hook than the pattern calls for, the finished item will turn out bigger. Your stitches may be looser, which can cause gaps to appear in the fabric. This may not be a big deal if you're making a blanket, but it can be a big deal if you're making a sweater.

Do you need 2 crochet hooks? ›

It is used to draw the yarn through the loops. If you are familiar with knitting, you know you need two needles to knit. But don't go to your local yarn shop and buy two same crochet hooks! You need just one.

What should I look for when buying a crochet hook? ›

Choosing your crochet hook - YouTube

Does using a bigger crochet hook use less yarn? ›

If you are using the same pattern (same number of stitches and rows/rounds), a larger crochet hook will use up more yarn. If you are going for the same size of project (say a 36 by 36 inch blanket), a larger crochet hook will use up less yarn.

Which takes more yarn knitting or crochet? ›

As expected, knitting takes up the least amount of yarn per given surface. That's because the stitches are quite flat, there are only two layers of yarn in any given spot. Regular crochet comes next, with about 25% more yarn used per given surface.

What is the hardest crochet stitch? ›

When you want a stitch that's heavy on the texture, go with the bullion stitch. By working a large number of yarn overs and then pulling the hook through all of them at once, you'll get intense bursts of yarn that almost look 3D.

What is the warmest crochet stitch? ›

The Thermal Stitch is one of the thickest, sturdiest, and warmest crochet stitches we can make. This stitch is effectively the thickness of TWO pieces of crochet, and is great for making pot holders, warm mittens or beanies, and even casserole carriers!

What is the quickest crochet stitch? ›

So, I decided to figure out which crochet stitch works up the fastest by timing how long it takes to make swatches of 16 of the most popular stitches. The crochet stitch that works up the fastest is the treble crochet stitch, followed closely by the front loop only treble crochet.

How thick should crochet yarn be? ›

Yarn Weight & Crochet Hook Size Chart
Yarn Weight TermsSuggested Hook Size
2-Fine(E-4) 3.50 mm, (F-5) 3.75 mm
3-Light, Light Worsted(G-6) 4.00 mm, (7) 4.50 mm, (H-8) 5.00 mm
4-Medium, Worsted(I-9) 5.50 mm, (J-10) 6.00 mm, (K-11) 6.50 mm
5-Bulky, Chunky7.00 mm, (L) 8.00 mm, (M/N) 9.00 mm
4 more rows

How do you soften a crochet thread? ›

You can use cheap hair conditioner to soak your completed project in warm water for about an hour. Then, give it a quick rinse in cool water and lay flat to dry. The conditioner deposits a thick coating or a resin that smoothes the fibres and fills in the spaces that make them feel scratchy and rough.

Is it easier to crochet with bigger yarn? ›

Most people find that yarn, which is thicker than thread (see more sizing information below), is easier to work with than crochet thread. That said, there are certainly crocheters who've jumped right into working with crochet thread from the beginning.

Having the right tools when you start to get more serious about a craft can be essential. The good news is that, compared with many other hobbies, crochet will give you good results with a comparatively low initial investment. I restarted as an adult with a hook my Mother in Law gave to me. It was a 4.25 mm (US G) hook passed down from her Aunt. I used it for 3 huge striped blankets (they turned out VERY thick – I had no idea about hook sizes and yarn..) 2 bags and all my beginning Amigurumis. I used it until the metal started rubbing off and turned my fingers gray. That’s when I knew I had to start branching out. There are a lot of choices out there and I want to share some of my experiences with you!

Inline Crochet Hooks these hooks have a throat “inline” with the shaft and the head.. The Bates hooks head is rounder and I don’t recommend these for amigurumi as compared to the Boye hooks.. Comfort grip crochet hooks These are hooks with a more comfortable grip.. Round grip crochet hooks This shape is ideal for crocheters who roll their hooks.. My Favorite Crochet Hooks I pondered over which ones to get or quite some time and fell in love with the Tulip Etimo Crochet hook set .

With so many different types available, we take a look at some of the best crochet hooks and crochet hook sets out there!

This Susan Bates crochet hook features a lovely round soft handle, helping you to hook up those stitches in comfort.. Bamboo is a popular choice when it comes to the best crochet hooks made from wood, as they're particularly lightweight and feel nice to hold, and these Pony Bamboo Crochet hooks are exactly that.. To help you find the best set for you, here are some of the best crochet hook sets for beginners.. This handy pack of Pony aluminium hooks contains the most common sizes that are needed in a crochet set for beginners - it's the perfect set for if you're just starting out on your crochet journey!. Here's another fab crochet hook set from Pony, The easy grip handles not only feature a flattened portion but also clever grooves to give you the best hold possible on your hook.

Give your hands a treat with our pick of the top 15 luxury crochet hooks.

Any crocheter that's been hooking for a while will already have a fair few different hooks to hand.. Although many luxury crochet hooks are made from wood, you might prefer the strength of metal hooks (especially if you're a tight crocheter).. These ergonomically designed hooks are made from a super-lightweight plastic and have a rubber-coated handle, making them the perfect choice for any crocheter that suffers from wrist or hand strain with regular hooks.. This Knitpro Symfonie Rose crochet hook set features the same quality hook design as regular Symfonie hooks, however these are made in stunningly gorgeous Rosewood, and come in their own monogrammed box!. Perhaps you want to buy a really special crochet hook as a gift for a loved one, then we have found the perfect hooks (although we won't blame you if you just want to treat yourself too).. These gorgeous luxury crochet hooks are made by PatioAlmaJewelry from Hungary, who makes these silver- and gold-plated crochet hooks by hand.. With a focus on providing a hook that really supports your wrists and fingers while you crochet, these durable hooks are a definite investment for your hard-core crocheter.. If you're after a full set of lovely wooden crochet hooks (and a nice case to keep them in) then this bamboo hook set is for you!. These fancy crochet hooks are custom made for you, so the family-run workshop in the Ukraine will make sure the materials and design are exactly what you want (or you can just order pre-made hooks from them if you're not fussy).. If you're after a hook that really is unique and completely made by hand, then check out these Artisan crochet hooks by Anna of LovaniiDesign.

If you are looking for the best crochet hooks for beginners, this article is for you. Check out our best tips for beginner crocheters.

So what are the best beginner crochet hooks?. Beginners should start with a size H or 5mm crochet hook.. Some are easier to start off with than others, and with time and experience, you will be able to start using other hooks.. The size of the crochet hook you use is dependent on the size of yarn you are using and the project or pattern you are following.. U sing a worsted weight yarn also helps the stitches be easily visible ; letting you see the stitches you create and learn to recognize the different stitches.. Crochet Hook Size Guide It is also a good idea to learn the different ways that size is labeled on crochet hooks.. The aluminum shafts make it easy for the yarn to glide over, with no friction, but the comfortable and warm grip allows you to hold and work the crochet hook for extended periods of time without it becoming uncomfortable.. It is perfect for beginners as the hook works well with all yarns and the stitches are easy to see, no matter the color yarn being used.. The best of both worlds are combined in this crochet hook, a soft, ergonomic handle perfect for extended crocheting and sore wrists, and a smooth, aluminum hook for easy gliding of yarn and easy identification of stitches.. Hook size doesn’t only matter when it comes to the hook being comfortable to hold in your hands, but also depends on the weight of the yarn that you are using.. Also, for beginners, it is better to use an acrylic or wool yarn to start with, as it offers slight resistance and is just easier to work with.. When choosing a yarn to crochet with, you need to decide on the yarn fiber you are going to use.

In this guide to the best ergonomic crochet needles, you'll learn which crochet hooks are the best for arthritis so you can crochet to your heart's content.

Which is the best ergonomic crochet hook for arthritis?. The best ergonomic crochet hook for arthritis would be one with a rubber handle, which has been shaped to fit the hand better.. Comfortable handle – The crochet hook needs to have a comfortable handle.. The comfort offered by the Clover Purple Amour Crochet Hook will be almost immediate, and you will want to buy up all the different sizes to complete your own set!. There are 12 ergonomic hooks included in the set in various sizes.. The sizes of the hooks are B, C, D, E, F, G, H, I, J, K, L, and N. Each of the hooks is set in an ergonomic handle, with a soft rubber grip that is warm and comfortable in the hand.. One ergonomic, comfortable handle is included in the kit, as well as 9 different hook heads which are interchangeable, and which size from 2.5mm to 6.5mm.. Ergonomic silicone grip 9 interchangeable heads Light up hook for easier crocheting. If you don’t want to give up your favorite set of crochet hooks, but you need to find a way to make using them more comfortable, then you should consider the Boye Ergonomic Crochet Hook Handle.. Each crochet hook is made with a comfortable, easy-grip handle which helps to eliminate finger, wrist, and hand pain, specifically when caused by arthritis.. Comfortable handles and better grip allow these crochet hooks to fit better in your hand and help to alleviate pain over time.

Find out our compilation of the Best Knitting Needles! Share our experiences to save you time and money! + Buyer's Guide

Now that you know what to consider when purchasing needles, it is time to go over eight of the best knitting needles currently on the market.. It is a good decision to mark the needles with the size you purchase because they are not printed on the needles, nor do they offer different colors for the different sizes.. The best knitting needles for blanket crafters are the KnitPal Jumbo Wooden Circular Knitting Needles.. Set review This kit includes nine sizes of needles and two sizes of cables, along with cable keys and end caps that fit nicely in a storage case the size of a notebook.. The next thing to consider when purchasing a knitting needle is the style of a needle to purchase.. Double-pointed These needles are exactly what it sounds like, a short needle with points at both ends of the needle.. Finally, when selecting knitting needles, you will need to think about what size of needle you want to use.. If you are wanting to keep your craft room or bag simple, then you can invest in interchangeable needles that allow you to vary the size of the needle you have without purchasing more.. The conclusion you can pull from this buying guide is the first step to purchasing needles is to know two things, what project are you wanting to work on and what type of material are you looking for in a needle.

If you’re thinking along the same lines as I am, you’ve come to the right place. Total disclaimer: the best crochet hook for you might not be the same one as everyone else. BUT I’ve rallied up a list of some diverse options and I’m pretty sure that you’ll find that glass-slipper type hook for you in this list. Below are the pros, cons, and pairings of some of the most popular brands and hidden gems in the crochet hook world. Let’s dive in! 

Pros: Clover hooks just glide like no other!. The grip is comfortable allowing it to fit perfectly in your hand so you can get that project on the way!. KnitPro is for us crocheters, too.. Wooden hooks are great for most yarns but sometimes they don’t work well with fibers that split easily or are less than perfect to work with.. Cons: KnitPro basics are truly basic.. Yarn Pairing: This worked really smoothly with my Happy Sheep Simple Wool yarn and I enjoyed the glide of the shiny aluminum hook tip for my project.. Pros: There’s a reason that most crocheters will tell you addi hooks are some of the best on the market.. As a company, addi focuses a lot on quality and function.. Cons: The shape (or price) is not for everyone.. Yarn Pairing: As this hook is great for amigurumi, cotton makes for a lovely pairing.. I really love my Hobbii hooks and they’re a great go-to for my basic crochet needs.. Sturdy and simple, the design is perfect for anyone wanting to stretch beyond a unibody metal or wooden hook, or crocheters who are just starting out.. It’s shaped nicely so that it’s comfortable in your hand but doesn’t impose a certain grip as some other ergonomic hooks might.

Blog post may contain affiliate links. Using the links I provide does not cost you anything additional. If you are a crocheter like me, you know it already that there are so many different crochet hooks to choose from. I created this post just to show you the main types of hooks and add my

I created this chart for you to see the different measurements An average crochet hook set usually contains 8 or 9 hooks starting from 2 mm up to 5 or 6 mm.. Hook throat: There are 2 types of hook throats, tapered or inline.. When I decided to change from my basic crochet hook set, I decided to buy a Clover hook and I didn’t regret it for a second.. My Clover Crochet Hook SetMy newest Tulip Etimo Set straight from Japan Luxury crochet hooks are more expensive than average crochet hooks and they are made from unique materials (wood, resin etc.). My tiny steel hooks (I only used them once) Light-up crochet hooks come in handy when you are crocheting at night but you don’t want to keep the lights on as others are asleep.. Image from GoogleTunisian crochet is using a different set of stitches and it has a special crochet hook, called tunisian crochet hooks or afghan crochet hooks.. These hooks are much longer than regular yarn hooks and they can often have a cable at their end or there are tunisian hooks with heads at both ends.

As I said before, there’s no such thing as a perfect hook. What works well for one person may be READ MORE

It also has some flexibility (the actual handle is some type of plastic, without the metal hook penetrating into the handle), so it’s very comfortable on your hands.. Pitfalls : Because the hook is made to fit the hand, it might not be perfect for everyone’s hand or crocheting style.. The Kollage hook has the thumb rest 1″ lower than the Susan Bates or Addi Premium hooks, which for me, is just too far away.. This hook sports the ‘standard’ Susan bates hook, with a bamboo handle below the thumb rest.. Because the handle is below the thumb rest, using this hook feels a lot like crocheting with a Standard Susan Bates hook.. This hook features a sleek metal head with an oval-shaped bamboo handle, laser-etched with the hook size information.. Pluses : The hook feels wonderful, and gives a nice handle for someone who wants to hold onto wood, but crochet with metal.. Unlike other comfort hooks, the handle begins comparatively high up the shaft, making this hook comfortable for those with smaller hands.. Pitfalls : This hook is about 1/2″ shorter than other hooks, so it may not be comfortable for those with bigger hands.. Verdict : If you have arthritis (that’s helped by working with wood over metal), this hook and the Kollage are two hooks on the market that still allow you to crochet with the speed of a metal head.. The hook is marked only with ‘5’ (it’s a 5.0mm size H hook), which might not be convenient for those who haven’t fully gotten the hang of the metric system.. Pluses : This hook gives you a bit more to hold onto than a plain hook, and the ridges will be welcome to people who find metal hooks too slippery.. Pitfalls : There isn’t much ‘comfort’ to this hook except that the handle is thicker than an average hook.. The shaft on the hook is tapered, which means that there isn’t a part of the hook that has a resting place for the stitches (perhaps there’s a centimeter where it isn’t tapered?. hook.

So many things to know about crochet hooks! Who knew? The Ultimate Beginners Guide to Crochet Hooks will help you decide which hook is best for you. I have done a deep dive to share with you

The Ultimate Beginners Guide to Crochet Hooks will help you decide which hook is best for you.. Over the years, I have tried pretty much every kind of crochet hook there is – especially as a beginner, I think I bought every type of hook I could find.. On many makes of crochet hooks, you will also find the sizing information of the hook on the thumb rest.. The tip or point of the crochet hook is what is inserted into your crochet stitch.. I have seen much debate around the internet about which style of hook is best- the Inline/Straight Crochet Hook or The Tapered Crochet Hook.. I find the Straight/Inline Crochet hook much easier to work with as it keeps the same tension while slipping the crochet stitch off the hook, and the deep throat reduces the chance of the yarn slipping off while completing stitches.. The throat on and tapered hook is not as deep as the inline hook making it easier and quicker to slide stitches off the hook.. PROS – Less stress to wrists – Can crochet faster – Stitches slide of easier than inline crochet hook. In addition to the above more traditional crochet hooks I must also mention ergonomic crochet and comfort grip hooks.. Comfort grip crochet hooks have a spongy surface which reduces slippage of the hook.. Take for example the 4.00mm and 4.25mm crochet hook both assigned the Letter G and 15.00mm and 16.00mm crochet hook are also assigned the Letter Q.. Always use the hook recommended by the crochet designer even if the yarn calls for a different size crochet hook.. In the end it comes down to personal choice Find a crochet hook that helps you keep control of your yarn Find a crochet hook that is comfortable to hold Experiment with different hooks before investing a lot of money

Looking for the crochet hooks plastic in the market? Before buying, spend some of your valuable time and do your proper homework. And if you are confused about where to start your research, don’t worry; we have got you covered.

Susan bates crystallites acrylic crochet hook gift set These hooks are beautifully colored translucent plastic crochet hooks These hooks famous in line head helps reduce wrist motion for fatigue free crocheting Protect and store this fine set of hooks in the handy vinyl case This set includes sizes 4-mm, 5-mm, 5.. Crochet handle with ergonomic design, comfortable to grip, easy to into stitches and can reduce stress on your fingers and wrist.. Will the crochet hooks plastic be worth buying?. Which are the crochet hooks plastics available in the market?. What are the things you need to check before buying the crochet hooks plastic?. Of course, brands may matter from one product to another, but you must always compare the brands of your product before buying it.. So, go for buying the best PRODUCT out there in the market and make the good deal out of it.

I have a large collection of luxury and handmade crochet hooks. I love to display them and I'm on the lookout for a case I can hang on the wall. Wouldn't that be awesome? I'm

I have a large collection of luxury and handmade crochet hooks.. I’m sharing a few of them here because I would love for you to check out the offerings from these crochet hook artisans.. ANYWAY….. would you just look at that hook??!!. Note that the ends are made in ebony wood, the two purplish bands are purple heart wood and that awesome camo is called buck eye wood.. If you find yourself in the market for some extraordinary hooks or, if you need to make a list of things you would like to get for Christmas, you may want to consider Jim’s work.. You won’t be able to find another one exactly like my gorgeous Kraken hook.. I am still on the look out for bocate hooks and, although I’ve been able to find some, they are mainly only in smaller crochet hook sizes.

This is the ultimate guide to buying crochet hooks. Learn what types of hooks to buy and different hook sizes, with out handy guide. Discover the right hook!

A crochet hook is the basic tool you'll need to get started on your journey as you learn to crochet .. Made from metal, plastic or wood with a small hook at one end, crochet hooks are used to turn a lovely skein of yarn into cozy sweaters, snuggly blankets and beautiful home accessories.. The tapered style on a crochet hook is less easy to control and over-tensioning can easily occur, as stitches are worked on and off the hook.. The shaft is the section of the crochet hook that is measured in millimetres to give the hook size, and is also the part that dictates the size of the stitch.. The thumb rest on a crochet hook is a flattened, wider section that makes it easier to hold and work with, and it's also the place where the size of the hook is often printed.. Crochet hooks are available in a wide variety of shapes, sizes and materials - so there's a hook out there for every crocheter to get to grips with.. While your standard crochet hook is great for all case scenarios, there are also lots of specialised hooks that work best for different projects.. Wooden and bamboo hooks are fab for smooth yarns, but mohair might be better matched with a plastic hook - so less chance of snagging!. Steel is the strongest crochet hook material, and is used to make fine hooks for producing detailed work, such as crochet lace.. There are hooks out there designed for the different ways you choose to grip your hook.. Tunisian crochet uses a different type of crochet hook, much like a knitting needle with a hook at one end.

Starting the yarn craft, crochet, can be challenging with knowing what tools to use and in working out what hook size you should get. This guide explains what beginners need to know.

If money is no big deal, I'd definitely recommend getting a whole set of Clover Amour because they're really great quality hooks for newbies to use, and then you will have a whole range of sizes to experiment with until you find the perfect match for you and your favorite yarns.. A set of clover amour crochet hooks makes a wonderful gift for someone who is new to crochet. I'm a newbie, learning to crochet.. :) I have most of the hook sizes, but my favorite crochet hook now seems to be an aluminum F hook as most of my projects (plush animals) are created with this size using 4-ply acrylic yarn.. But this Clover hook looks like it would work well for a 'beginner'.

We independently research, test, review, and recommend the bestproducts—learn more about our process. If you buy something through our links, we may earn a commission.A reliable,well-made toiletis a must-have for every household.We researched the best toilets on the market, evaluating ease of instal...

One-piece design is easier to clean. Dimensions: 27.75 x 18.75 x 28.19 inches | Toilet Style: One-piece | Bowl Shape: Elongated | Flush Type: Single flush | Gallons Per Flush: 1.28 | Rough-In Size: 12 inches. One-piece design is easier to clean. Dimensions: 28.2 x 16.5 x 29.6 inches | Toilet Style: One-piece | Bowl Shape: Elongated | Flush Type: Dual flush | Gallons Per Flush: 1.6 or 1.1 | Rough-In Size: 12 inches. The included toilet seat is equipped with a deodorizer, warm air dryer, remote control, adjustable water and seat temperatures, and a self-cleaning wand.. Dimensions: 28 x 16 x 23 inches | Toilet Style : One-piece | Bowl Shape: Elongated | Flush Type: Dual flush | Gallons Per Flush: 1.28 | Rough-In Size: 12 inches. However, there are also models where the rim is 17 to 19 inches, and this style is often marketed as a “comfort height” toilet because the added height makes them easier to sit on and stand up from.. For instance, you may come across pressure-assisted flushing technology, where pressurized air forces water into the bowl.. As with many household fixtures, you can find toilets with special features—for an additional cost.

Mushrooms are some of the most mysterious life forms on our planet, so it’s fitting that they have a unique life cycle as well.Fungi aren’t quite plants and they aren’t quite animals, so they’ve got their own distinct process of birth, living and dying.If you’re interested in mushrooms, then their l...

A good understanding of the mushroom life cycle will allow you to know what your mushrooms need at different stages of their lives.. A mushroom is the fruiting body that some types of fungi produce.. Mature mycelium. The germ tube eventually begins to grow into something called hyphae.. At that point, they’ll begin to fruit and produce mushrooms.. Once the mushroom fully matures, it releases its spores and the process starts all over again.. What are mushrooms exactly?. The actual life cycle of either type of mushroom is the same.. (Video) ♻️ Understanding The Mushroom Life Cycle - From Spores To Mycelium To Mushroom And Back Again!. For a fungi to reproduce asexually, it produces something called mitospores.. The morel mushroom life cycle only takes about six days from when it first begins to fruit until it’s fully grown and ready to harvest.. They’re a good example of how many mushrooms complete their life cycle in the wild.

You might also like

Latest Posts

Article information

Author: Otha Schamberger

Last Updated: 09/28/2022

Views: 5295

Rating: 4.4 / 5 (75 voted)

Reviews: 82% of readers found this page helpful

Author information

Name: Otha Schamberger

Birthday: 1999-08-15

Address: Suite 490 606 Hammes Ferry, Carterhaven, IL 62290

Phone: +8557035444877

Job: Forward IT Agent

Hobby: Fishing, Flying, Jewelry making, Digital arts, Sand art, Parkour, tabletop games

Introduction: My name is Otha Schamberger, I am a vast, good, healthy, cheerful, energetic, gorgeous, magnificent person who loves writing and wants to share my knowledge and understanding with you.