Home » The 20th Century: An Alternative History by John Higgs
The 20th Century: An Alternative History John Higgs

The 20th Century: An Alternative History

John Higgs

Published
ISBN : 9780771038471
Hardcover
356 pages
Enter answer

 About the Book 

The extraordinary story of the 20th century, as told from the furthest fringes of science, art and culture. For readers of Brysons A Short History of Nearly Everthing.Before 1900, history was an account of great discoveries that actually madeMoreThe extraordinary story of the 20th century, as told from the furthest fringes of science, art and culture. For readers of Brysons A Short History of Nearly Everthing.Before 1900, history was an account of great discoveries that actually made sense. People understand innovations like the steam engine, agriculture, or electricity. The twentieth century, by contrast, gave us quantum entanglement, cubism, relativity, psychedelics, postmodernism, chaos maths, and the Somme.This is the story of that confusing century as told through the ideas produced at the furthest fringes of our sciences, arts, and culture. Its cast includes well-known geniuses such as Albert Einstein, Francis Crick, and Pablo Picasso, lesser known geniuses like Edward Lorenz, Sergey Korolyov, or Shigeru Miyamoto, and infamous but influential neer-do-wells like Timothy Leary, Aleister Crowley and Keith Richards. In this company we take a tour through ideas as strange as general relativity, DNA, the subconscious, Gaia theory, and Dada.In The 20th Century, a brilliantly written and original book, John Higgs explores, with great clarity and wit, the extremes of twentieth century thought, and in doing so shows how a world of empires became a world of individuals. You will never see the twentieth century in the same way again.